As a school, we follow Durham County Council’s Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education.

You can view or download our RE Long Term Plan by clicking the link below:

RE LongTermPlan (1)

By following Durham County Council’s Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education, pupils will build religious literacy by:

  • developing knowledge and understanding of religious and non-religious worldviews
  • becoming increasingly able to respond to religious and non-religious worldviews in an informed and insightful way
  • reflecting on their own ideas and the ideas of others.

In the Agreed Syllabus there are three elements of Religious Education and these cover the aims above:

  • Knowledge and Understanding
  • Critical Thinking
  • Personal Reflection

In KS1, Christianity and Buddhism are taught.

In KS2, Christianity, Judaism, Islam and Hinduism are taught.

These religions are taught through the following four concepts, which are one way in which a religion can be defined. Each concept conveys a fundamental idea for understanding what religion is and how religion works.

  • Belief
  • Authority
  • Expressions of Belief
  • Impact of Belief

We encourage visitors from and visits to local places of worship and the use of imagery and artefacts to bring this subject alive for pupils. We aim for pupils to visit Durham Cathedral once in Key Stage 1 and once in Key Stage 2.